Apotheosis

…is a fantastic word.

I’m thinking about it because I visited Graceland this weekend. This visit was not entirely on purpose, but there I was in Memphis and what’s there to do in Memphis but to see crazy old Elvis’ mansion? I don’t actually have much to say about the mansion itself, since it was actually pretty interesting and well-exhibited.

What I’m more interested in is the man that owned it, and his later cultural transformation into some sort of pagan god. That’s a strong word, I suppose, but there are shrines to him, and there are many that believe him still alive / incapable of death. He’s moved past a human life, now written into American culture.

What I want to know is why. He made music, that’s all. Maybe he was a cool dude, but most of us haven’t met him. What about this man led people to this odd new form of worship?
I’m fascinated by the idea that someone’s work could make them so immortal that people actually believe he’s immortal. People will think of him as the King of Rock ‘N Roll for some time, even as his music becomes less relevant. In many ways, he’s conquered death.

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t impressed.

Leave a Reply

